Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-28

This week is almost over, and this is the week that an agent who expressed some interest in representing me said she'd be making her decision. I have a very good feeling about this agent--I think she'd be wonderful to work with--and I can only hope the feeling will turn out to be mutual. If not, well, I guess I will move on to the next one. I don't actually have a next one in mind yet, but I'll come up with one.

One of the things she asked about was whether I had another book in mind, whether I'd been writing and submitting to magazines in the years since the novel originally made the rounds. I was honest about the fact that I had a vague idea for another novel but that my energies have pretty much been elsewhere. And that given the realities of my life at the moment, I think another book would be fairly slow going. Unless, of course, I could get some substantial funding, which seems like a pretty remote possibility.

However, after having said that, I have been experimenting with spending an hour each night writing. Not fiction, just stream of consciousness "morning pages" type writing. I do it from eight to nine in the evening, right after putting Clay to bed. I write quickly, so I'm thinking that if I could manage to do that four nights a week (Monday through Thursday) plus an hour or two Saturday and Sunday, that could sort of add up.

On the Clay front: within the past week he has begun to climb the stairs. He walks over to the bottom of the stairway and gives us a look, then we come over and stand behind him and up he goes. Just last night he figured out how to come down. Also, last night he was in the tub with his usual array of toys and other detritus, when I asked him to hand me the black cup I use to pour water over his head. "Hand me the BLACK CUP, sweetie," I said a couple of times. And he did!

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com