Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-24

I got new glasses this weekend. I've been looking forever, for years, really, for new frames. Clay has nearly destroyed my old ones and the lenses were pretty banged up, too, but I could never find any frames I liked that B didn't veto. Part of the issue is that he is change-averse, and likes my current frames. Or is used to them. I even tried contacts for a while but they were too much trouble and they hurt (my eyes are on the dry side).

But Sunday the three of us went to the mall and I dragged them into an optician's. I let B pick out frames and finally he found some that he liked ("they make you look smart *and* sexy") that I found acceptable as well. They are brown plastic, kind of big, rounded rectangles. So I threw down my credit card and we went to the food court and the Apple store and an hour later I had new glasses. They are very similar to my old glasses, but they stay on and I can see clearly.

On the way home from the mall, Clay started saying "Playground!" or his version thereof, so we stopped at an elementary school near our house that has a nice little play area that's usually empty. This day, however, there was a mother with her 2.5 year old daughter. They're new to the area, she does the same kind of work I do, though she's currently staying home with her kid because they can't find good childcare. And she's going a little crazy being home with her kid, which made me like her. Or not feel judged by her. And she even did the whole pumping thing. So we had a lot to yak about and the kids played sweetly together so we exchanged phone numbers and will maybe get together sometime. Oh, and her husband is an auto mechanic, which made B like him sight-unseen (he has a pro-blue collar bias).

Clay is going through what I hope is a phase and not his new personality. He does this kind of sniveling half-crying thing that goes on and on and on. It really tries my patience. I just want him to snap out it!

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com