Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-24

Today B and Clay and I attended a co-ed baby shower. Well, guess the co-ed part goes without saying, huh? This was only my third baby shower (no one threw one for me, though I did get a work lunch in my honor) and it beat hands down the two previous all-chick ones. There were no inane games, just good food and good coffee and mercifully speedy opening of presents.

As a bonus, the male half of the couple hosting the event works at a local institution I've been thinking might be a good place for me to work. It never even crossed my mind that this shower could be a networking opportunity. Which is a good thing, because I might have been self-conscious. As it happened, I'd taken Clay to an out of the way alcove for some discreet boob action when this guy, either oblivious or incredibly relaxed about our activity, came up and asked how we were doing. I said fine and then, in an attempt at conversation, asked what kind of work he and his wife did. When he told me where he works I kind of switched from idle-chatter mode to confident self-promotion mode.

He seemed to think I might be a good fit for the operation and ended up giving me his card and encouraging me to get in touch. I have some questions whether it's right for me--the place is ethical so the money will probably be lousy--but I do plan to follow up. How ironic it would be if my one successful networking attempt took place with my breast exposed.

The shower was for a woman from my motherhood and creativity class who I hope will become a friend because I really like her and her husband seems great as well. B also liked them both. One of my big fantasies is for us to befriend a couple with a kid, a family, wherein we all get along and can do things such as rent a beach house for a week together. That just seems like heaven.

I know I'm getting a little carried away--it's the friendship equivalent of one date with a guy and you're naming the kids, I suppose--but I meet so few people that really grab me, and then lots of times the spouse turns out to be annoying. So I am hopeful. The husband of this couple is in school, that's why they're in this area, and they might leave when this phase of his training ends, so part of me doesn't want to get too attached but we've got to take what we can get.

Have I mentioned that Clay has started walking? Well, he has, but only at daycare. He'll go a few steps at home but mostly crawls, whereas there he's Mr. Walking Dude. I have a few theories about the discrepancy.

  • Our carpet at home is different, a deeper pile.
  • He always wears shoes at daycare and only occasionally at home.
  • He's falling prey to peer pressure there, with all the older kids walking.
  • With three dogs at home, quadrupeds are actually in the majority.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com