Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-21

What was I thinking when I bought those pink Dr. Scholls? I returned them yesterday. Meanwhile, I've made a new discovery in the Euro-comfort-shoe realm. A couple weeks ago B and C and I went to the tiny little business district in town so that B could buy some good shoes for walking. There's a store that spends half an hour or so fitting you and we went on a Saturday so he had to take a number. While he waited, I took Clay to a store down the street, one that sells funky but expensive clothing and shoes--brands like Flax and Naot, the kind of stuff worn by affluent liberal women--and a collection of amusing toys for adults (this was the first place I ever saw Magnetic Poetry, for example). Anyway, beside the Naots were several styles made by Wolky. The one I liked wasn't available in my size. The owner offered to order them for me but she rubbed me the wrong way. Clay was playing with one of their little toys for adults--a robot about a foot high--and I asked whether that was okay. I guess I suspected it wasn't, which is reasonable enough, and possibly it was remiss of me to even put her in that position. Still, I was unprepared for the very snotty way she said simply "No." So we left and I found the shoes available online for ten dollars less (and free shipping and no sales tax).

And they arrived a few days ago and are insanely comfortable, more so than my beloved Danskos, and equally touted by some association of podiatrists or another. And adequately cute. I got them in red, which was a major decision I don't exactly regret but I went ahead and ordered a second pair in black which will no doubt get lots more wear. (An extravagance, yes, but good shoes really are important to me and since my feet grew a quarter size with pregnancy I've been rebuilding the collection.)

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com