Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-10

Last week we took our first summer family road trip, visting friends and family. We lived to tell the tale though there were some rough moments. At one point we were stuck in traffic and Clay was howling; I don't know why, but it struck me as hilarious when B said, completely deadpan, "Clay, if you don't stop screaming, I'm going to kill myself."

The highlights of the trip for me were (1) taking the train into Manhattan one day to meet up with Kymm and Tracing and (2) visiting some friends of B's in eastern Pennsylvania. These friends live on a big farm across the street from a lake, and Clay was in heaven playing with their kids, ages six and ten. And the feeling was mutual--the kids, particularly the ten-year-old girl, adored him. She told me "I don't usually like toddlers, but I think Clay is really cool." (I happen to feel exactly the same way.) As we were preparing to leave, she kept saying, in her very serious voice, "I don't want you to leave." And when we did, she said, "Goodbye Clay, I love you."

There was some talk of our relocating to the area when these people live. There's a house for sale on the lake. We asked how large it was and someone answered "Three bedrooms." At this the six-year-old boy said, "That's perfect!" then pointed to me, to Clay, and to B. "One, two, three!"

Now we are back. Clay has turned some kind of corner and is so much more fun to be around. Part of it is the talking. Recent additions to his vocabulary include "crack-a?" (for cracker, used to refer to all snacks), "owl," and "Gus" (one of his daycare buddies). And he consistently calls our dog Nellie "Na-na." Oh, and he's finally gotten the hang of "ma-ma." It took him long enough.

Tomorrow is my birthday. I turn 40. All told, I'm feeling worlds better than I did last year at this time.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com