Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-16

So I've had five sessions now with my soon-to-close-her-practice old therapist and they have been very valuable. Making me kick myself for having been such a cheapskate two years ago when my insurance wouldn't cover her. And making me extra sad that she's leaving the profession. She's leaving it to pursue a career in filmmaking, by the way, not because she's going to retire or anything (she's only around 50). I can't help wondering to what degree experiences like my electing to see an inferior therapist because of financial reasons contributed to her decision.

I can ask her about this; she might decline to answer, but I can ask. But I'm busy enough sorting through my own issues of the moment, which she seems to think have to do with my relationship with my mother. That probably sounds laughably cliched, but the fact is that I've always kind of dismissed my relationship with my mother as fine and spent lots of psychic energy thinking about my father.

Interestingly, whereas previous boyfriends reminded me of my father, the dynamics between B and me in many ways evoke those between me and my mother. And clearly, now that I am myself a mother, it seems that the manner in which I was mothered becomes a salient topic.

So, it's all very rich and rife, and my therapist is brilliant and gifted, and we've only got a few months until she throws in the towel forever. Ah, well.

*

I just read Three Junes. It's a pretty long novel, and the fact that I finished it says a lot, but it was disappointing. I was looking for more of a payoff than I got.

Also, last night read The Little Engine That Could for the first time in probably 35 years. Funny how little I remembered. I read it to Clay, who was riveted. It continually surprises me how quickly he decides that a book is or is not for him.

*

In other news, last week I was chatting with a co-worker whose last name is Turner. I asked him how old his kids were these days and he said, Let's see, Joey is eight and Page is five.

It wasn't until about ten minutes later that I put two and two together. The girl's name is Page Turner.

*

Note: If you're interested in toileting matters, don't miss the previous entry.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com