Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-11

Because of a ubiquitous feature of human psychology, very little in life turns out quite as good as we expect it will be. [...] This ubiquitous feature of human psychology is a process known as adaptation. Simply put, we get used to things, and then we start to take them for granted.

From The Paradox of Choice by Barry Schwartz

One of the most dangerous phrases I can think of is "I will be happy when."

*

Clay's favorite color is pink. Given a choice--of cookies, of balloons--he will choose the pink one. I find this sweet and will be sad the day he learns pink isn't an appropriate favorite color for a boy. (That could be a good litmus test of the grooviness factor of the various schools we consider: Could a boy get through this place with this preference intact?)

The other day driving home he was insistently asking for a cookie and I was insistently replying that I didn't have any cookies. This went on for some time. Finally, to change the refrain, I asked, "What kind of cookie would you like?" and he said, "Pink cookie!"

One thing that strikes me as so cute and grown up is that when you ask him a question, he will sometimes pause and say "Um" while forming his response.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com