Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-10

What I learned tonight: While going into the hot tub when it's cold outside is pleasant and relaxing, going into the hot tub when it's cold and rainy is not. I suppose holding an umbrella might make doing so a little more tolerable, but somehow that seems to defeat the relaxation effort.

So I saw my doctor today and guess what: My cervix is one centimeter dilated and--she estimates--30% effaced. It's also nice and soft. This doesn't really mean anything in terms of the imminence of labor--women can be at two centimeters for weeks--but at least I'm moving in the right direction.

For those not in the know, the cervix starts out kind of doughnut shaped with a tiny opening and over the course of labor the opening dilates to 10 centimeters and the whole thing thins out, or effaces, so that it can essentially stretch, like a turtleneck, over the baby's head.

And speaking of the baby's head, she felt it, right where we want it to be. She also felt the body part jabbing out of my left side and confirmed that it is, indeed, a foot. The kid was very active during the exam, prompting her to exclaim how exciting this is! She, who has been through this process many, many times before.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com