Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-26

I happened upon a piece called Millennial Grandma, in which a woman makes this reflection on her own parenting days:

We'd get together in the afternoons, throw all the kids into a room full of toys, and assemble in the kitchen to smoke, drink coffee and bitch about our husbands. At home, I'd deposit the kids in the playpen, turn on the television, and go about my business cleaning, cooking, or talking on the phone. When I happened to be in the mood, I occasionally played with them.

I have to admit, that scenario is not without its appeal, especially the smoking, coffee drinking, and bitching. And the best part of all? I suspect those mothers didn't feel guilty.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com