Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-20

Untitled

Clay has begun to clap. I said to B, "If someone had told us we'd be this excited to see Clay start clapping, would we ever have believed them?" I know I wouldn't have. Yet here we are.

He started Friday night, in the semi-darkness of his room, sitting on my lap after nursing. Just looked at me, smiled, then, clap-clap-clap. Of course I clapped in response. Then I put him to bed.

The next morning Clay repeated this feat; in fact, he's doing it all the time lately and it hasn't yet failed to give us a thrill. If you start clapping, he'll generally follow suit, unless he's extremely tired. If you start clapping while he's holding something in one hand, he'll take the other hand and slap his face!

A few weeks ago I kept talking about the plateau Clay seemed to have reached; well, lately it's something new every day.

B had two days of intense illness followed by two days of moderate illness. I felt like a single mother of two children. Not that B was being childish or unappreciative or anything, he was just helplessly sick so everything else fell on me. It wasn't so bad but I'm glad he's on the mend.

Today is a holiday for Martin Luther King's birthday. The daycare celebrates this holiday and my employer does not. And B is spending the day trying to ease back into work and also rest. So Clay is spending the day at the hippie house again.

Have I mentioned that I've been making yogurt? It started one weekend when we were almost out of it but had lots of milk I didn't think we'd end up using. I'd seen instructions for making your yogurt recently, and I have a candy thermometer, so I decided to give it a whirl. I used a heating pad to keep the jars of milk warm (the key to yogurt making is keeping the milk within a fairly narrow temperature range in order for the bacteria to grow). It came out great and it was fun! I did it again a week later, it came out even better. Then I tried again this past weekend and it didn't go so well. So I bought a yogurt maker for on eBay.

Listen to me, calling other people hippies when I make my own yogurt.

So, yes, we're still nursing despite the fact that I've almost completely stopped pumping. I have no strong feelings about how long we'll continue; as long as it keeps working for us both, I suppose. A mailing list of mothers I'm on has recently been talking about nursing toddlers. This one woman weaned her kid at three and a half. He's now four and they were talking recently about the old days. She asked, "What was your favorite thing about nursing?" He looked at her as though she were an idiot and said, "The milk."

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com