Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-24

Nine in the evening now. A very quiet day. I've just been taking it easy, trying to conserve my energy. Talked to Beulah the Doula, who predicted we'll see action within 48 hours. She also said she sees too many people who are tired from trying to do too much during early labor and that I really should do as little as possible. For an essentially lazy person like myself, it's very nice to be ordered to take it easy.

I haven't felt much activity in the contraction department, but I don't think that's so unusual. I'm going to read in bed for a while, maybe sleep.

Will it be tonight? Will we end up with a Christmas baby? (You know what song has been going through my head endlessly? Kyle from South Park's rendition of "I'm a Jew, a lonely Jew, on Christmas.")

I organized the bag of stuff to take the hospital, so I feel better prepared.

Earlier B was talking about our game plan, said that after the baby is born and things settle down, he'll probably drive back here to see to the dogs and then return to the hospital. When he said the part about the baby being born, it took me completely by surprise. Like, Oh, my god, we're having a BABY!

It is so huge, so enormous, there is just no way for me to assimilate it.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com