Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-11

I haven't left the house today. Unless walking to the mailbox counts. I'm not sure exactly what I did all day besides start a new jigsaw puzzle. (Yesterday I picked up a few at the thrift shop for $2 each.) This feels like the quaintest pasttime; I suspect I am the last person on earth who finds these engaging. Certainly no one I know in real life will join me in doing them, and it's probably just as well because I'm not sure how I'd take to sharing one.

It's so low-tech, so old-fashioned, so slow. I find it engages the spatial, non-verbal part of my brain, freeing some other part to daydream and ruminate; it's a very different quality of thinking that if I were to walk or to just sit still doing nothing. It fascinates me to see where my mind goes; I I find myself thinking of obscure cousins I haven't thought about in years, stuff like that.

This morning I watched the video of Wonder Boys. I saw it when it first came out and being a major fan of Michael Chabon, I loved the book. The movie's really good, and it's unfortunate so few people saw it. I adore the character of Sarah as played by Frances McDormand. It's so rare to see a woman in movie who is smart, of ordinary beauty, and on the bitchy side end up getting the guy. (I like it when it happens in real life, too.) And of course, her being pregnant and not so young has special appeal for me now.

I was talking last night to a friend who had her one child at age 35 (he's in college now and a very cool, likable kid). She insisted I take credit for having an easy and pleasant pregancy; my tendency is to chalk it up to luck. No, she said, you've made it this way by being calm and sane. Fine, I finally said, you're right. It's all my doing!

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com