Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-16

I hope yesterday's lack of update didn't lead anyone to conclude that I'd gone into labor. Nothing so exciting, just garden variety exhaustion. B and I spent most of yesterday at the old house, emptying the shed (aka the He-man room) of tools and car parts and bringing truckloads of the stuff to the dump and to our storage unit. By the end of the day it was all we could do to collapse on the couch and watch the first half of The Godfather Part II, which I've managed never to see in its entirety.

By 10:30 I was in bed. At 4:30, I awoke and noticed the sheet seemed a little damp and wondered whether my water had broken. I figured that if it had, I'd need all the rest I could get and tried to get back to sleep. It wasn't so easy, though, and I tossed and turned until six or so, thinking of the various things we still need to do to prepare. Finally I drifted off and slept until around 9. There has been no further evidence of mysterious fluid so I guess it's safe to assume the amniotic sac is intact.

So, today is my estimated delivery date. It's 4:41 pm so there's still a fair amount of it left. When I was lying awake this morning, I was excited at the prospect of going into labor on the actual day. I haven't really felt any contractions, though, or if I have they've been extremely mild. I did feel some uncharacteristic twinges, not in my uterus but lower, down in my pelvis; those haven't continued.

Today B and I were out and about doing errands. It seems that all I do lately is buy stuff; it's like we're lying in for a big snow storm. We keep thinking of more things it would be good to have.

He wants to get a Christmas tree, and I'm not opposed, but our two boxes of holiday paraphernalia, including the tree stand, ornaments, menorah, and dreidels, is buried deep in the storage unit and would require serious excavation to retrieve. We considered going over and doing that today but both decided we'd rather come home and relax. That's what's happening now, relaxation. We counted that it's been four months since we made our offer on this house and that during that time he has taken off only Thanksgiving weekend--every other weekend day he's spent working on one aspect or another of the move.

So, when's it gonna happen? When will I detect the tell-tale signs that labor is imminent? When I thought my water had broken I felt fairly ready, though very tired. I guess this is all I'll be able to think of from here on out. To an even greater degree than has been the case, I mean. We'll see.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com