Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-13

More on the whole working mother/kid in daycare situation. Here's an idea: What if the needs of the child are not necessarily best served by a one-size-fits all solution? What if all the following and more factor in: temperament of the child, temperament of the mother, type of work available for mother, type of daycare available for child. (And when I say mother I guess I really mean parent.)

I was talking to a friend who stays home with her two kids. Before the kids, she taught middle school, which she enjoyed but which was also (a) really demanding and (b) poorly paid. In contrast, my job is (a) not particularly demanding and (b) well-paid. How can these differences not factor in?

Consider also that I have come to function well with a fair amount of time to myself each day. I'm not suggesting I'd die without it, but my sanity would be compromised. And who wants a sanity-compromised mother?

Consider also that Clay has taken to daycare beautifully. Only once has he cried upon arrival at the center, and B is pretty sure that's a result of his scratching Clay with his glasses when kissing him goodbye.

Do I sound defensive? Sure I do. Really, though, life is pretty good.

Here he is, taking a little snooze in the jogging stroller.

Clay, the baby for people who don't like babies.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com