Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-04

Much of this week we've had to keep Clay home from daycare, not because he's particularly sick but because he has diarrhea they don't feel like dealing with. So B and I take turns watching him and working.

Yesterday I had my weekly shrink appointment which I had not thought to cancel 24 hours in advance. If you don't cancel, not only do you have to pay, but you have to pay the full rate ($105) instead of just the copay ($15). So I asked my shrink what he thought of my bringing Clay along and he said it was fine with him.

He had lots of toys that he brought out. We were able to carry on a reasonable semblance of a session as Clay alternately played with the toys and climbed into my lap. (My ability to nurse unfazed drove home to me just how little modesty I have left.)

When the session ended, I was helping the shrink put the toys away. I asked whether he treated children as well as adults and he told me he had begun his career specializing in children and now they comprise about a third of his practice. I asked whether he had any professional observations he wanted to make about Clay. "Oh, yes," he said. "He's a cutie."

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com