Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-27

The class on motherhood and creativity ended but we're going to continue to meet. The initial group dwindled to seven--an interesting set of women.

Something about the experience of motherhood makes me want to seek out others in the same position. Maybe it's the fundamental loneliness of it? In any case, I do long to share what I'm going through. Not with just anyone, though.

Compared to my previous stabs at finding my cohort, this one really feels right. Before I might have thought it was a particular ideology we needed to have in common. Now I'm thinking it's partly that but more a way of thinking about our experience, of processing it.

The group is mostly therapists, you'll recall. I've always been fascinated with the phenomenon of therapy. I've read a number of books--fiction and non--about the experience from the point of view of the shrink but I've never had any friends who were shrinks. I've got my eye on one woman in particular as a potential friend. That's kind of exciting because I don't often meet people who intrigue me.

*

We're doing holiday cards this year. If you'd like to receive one, please send me your address.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com