Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-01-14

Today was the first day without my sister and it wasn't bad. Despite the fact that last night was the second consecutive rough night with the baby for which I have no clear explanation. Until now, the rough nights have correlated with my poor dietary choices. Yesterday and the day before I ate nothing controversial (that I'm aware of) and he cried until five and three respectively.

Last night I occupied myself by watching the Adrian Lyne version of Lolita, which I found pretty riveting. It helps, having something engaging to return to when you finally get the baby to the "limp limb" stage of sleep, put him down, and after ten quiet minutes he starts crying again.

Today was pretty decent. I managed to sleep until eleven and after that my goal was to keep Clay as awake as possible. (He has been sleeping most of most days, in classic "days and nights mixed up" fashion.) I gave him his first real bath--as opposed to sponge baths--and it went well. I think he knows he's not supposed to like baths, so he cried a bit, but I think he secretly enjoyed it. I used this mesh stand someone gave me, put it in the tub and lay him on it, soaped him up then poured cupfuls of warm water to rinse him off. He seemed to enjoy the rinsing.

Tonight he's wearing a hand-me-down sleeper patterned with flowers and little bunnies with bows in their hair. He's worn flowered ones before but this one actually has the words "Baby Girl" worked into the print. Thank God B isn't one of those maniacs who think there's anything wrong with this. When Clay first wore a girlish outfit I asked B if he had any objections; he said, "Clay doesn't even know what a girl is."

Meanwhile, in non-baby news, the guy who's buying our old house is being an enormous pain in the ass, upping his demands to the point where we've almost told him to take a hike. The closing, originally scheduled for tomorrow, has been moved to Friday, and we're not completely sanguine about its happening then. It will be such a relief when this thing is behind us.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com