Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-19

Well. Long time. Things have been mostly good lately, though I decided it might be helpful to get a little professional assistance thinking through some issues, including but not limited to the question of the second child. And since my health insurance doesn't appear to cover any kind of therapy that isn't--shall we say--medically necessary, I figured I'd call my beloved old shrink and just bite the bullet and pay her out of pocket for half a dozen sessions or so.

And yesterday I saw her and--guess what--she's in the process of closing her practice. But not before I can get some sessions in. So that part is good but it's also sad that she'll no longer be there in the way she has been for the past nine or so years since we officially terminated. It has been very good knowing she's here, available (if I have the money).

Back when I was seeing her full time (twice weekly for most of it), it pained me that she couldn't be my friend. And upon ending the therepeutic relationship, I understood that we couldn't be friends because then she could never be my shrink again. So it did cross my mind that now that she's leaving the fold (forever, presumably), that prohibition is no longer in place. Though of course there are plenty of other reasons why we wouldn't necessarily be friends and to be honest I no longer have that same yearning, I don't think.

It's all kind of a jumble, but I am glad that I happened to get in touch with her when I did. It seems like a very fortunate coincidence or non-coincidence if you believe in such things.

*

And meanwhile, well, life chugs along. Clay is very dear and funny lately. I must become more disciplined about recording the things he says for posterity. The few things I have gotten down are so precious to me now and there's no way I'd have remembered them otherwise.

I'm feeling kind of slothful at the moment. Kind of bleh.

Oh, well, here's a recent photo I must say that I love.

We went to the mountains for a couple of days. Clay said, "What are those things on the walls?" Finally, we figured out that he was talking about the mountains. Yes, it's fairly flat, where we live.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com