Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-23

It's 3:30 am. I got in bed to read around midnight. I started conking out and turned out the light at 12:50. I lay on my side and felt something intense going on in my uterus. I opened my eyes; it was 12:59.

Every since, I've been feeling steady activity. Only one or two instances I'd call painful, the rest just kind of pressure. Not unlike menstrual cramps. Just like the books say.

I tried staying in bed, wanting to get any sleep possible, but I was getting up every 15 minutes to pee. I wanted to let B sleep and between the up-and-down and my excitement, I certainly wasn't getting any, so I came downstairs.

I suppose this could be a false alarm, that things could peter out. I haven't been timing anything; they aren't really discrete contractions that lend themselves to timing. I don't think. I suppose I could start paying more attention to the timing, but until things start getting stronger and more painful, I don't think there's much point.

This is so exciting! Earlier tonight I had my first little twinge of worry, fearing that spontaneous labor might never begin, that they'd have to induce it. What a relief!

Of course, some of my superstitious jinx-thinking crops up. You know, I shouldn't say anything about this lest I be mistaken. Lest the very act of sharing my excitement make it go away. But I don't think that quite applies in this case. I guess we'll see.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com