Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-25

Saturday morning around nine Clay and I left the house to go meet B at a pancake breakfast and yard sale, a fundraiser at this this club he belongs to (he was working there). The place is four or five miles from our house, which makes it close. I was driving down the two-lane highway off which we live when a deer hit the driver side of my car. I was coming around a curve and was afraid to stop, so I kept driving for a bit then pulled over to inspect the damage: a big indentation in the back rear door, a smaller indentation in the driver door, a busted rear-view mirror, and a shattered wheel cover. I decided to keep driving to the club, knowing there would be some law-enforcement types in attendance.

There was indeed a guy from the sheriff's office, who called in the incident. A nice young sheriff's deputy came and wrote up things up. And my car is still drivable and my insurance covers it all save for a $250 deductible and the rental car I will need while my car is being repaired.

And that's that. Grateful no one was hurt, of course. One thing that's weird is the previous night B and C and I were driving to dinner and a deer ran across in front of B's truck and we had quite an adrenaline rush. And B said how relieved he was and I had this secret dark thought that I often have where I'm a little disappointed at disaster narrowly averted. Not that I want disaster, but part of me wants drama, I guess. So the next day I got a little drama, though not much, really. A little story to tell.

Two weeks before the deer incident was the fire incident. Living in the country feels kind of hazardous lately. Not much crime, compared to where when we lived in town and had things stolen on a regular basis, but more other stuff.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com