Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-16

I'm thinking a bit more about having another kid. Partly because B seems to be less categorically opposed. We were out with some friends (yes, really) when asked whether we were done and he replied that it was up in the air. Oh? When did it float up?

Oddly--or maybe not so oddly--one of the things prompting this seems to be learning over a short span of time about three families who either lost children or had them contract serious illnesses (my list friend whose son has cancer among them). I always rolled my eyes at the heir-and-a-spare notion, but having become a parent, I want to stay a parent. And if, God forbid, something were to happen to Clay....

It used to surprise me, still sort of does, that only children are the exception rather than the rule. After having one, I mean. I just couldn't imagine going through that early stuff again. But that's starting to change. Maybe it's his getting older, maybe it's just the amount of time that has passed. It's no longer inconceivable. So to speak.

Of course, we have plenty of reservations, based on things like limited time, space, money, energy, patience, and so forth. And those three fucking dogs that I honestly think all three of us humans would be happy to see run away and never come back. They even seem to get on Clay's nerves; he bellows a robust "Go away, Chester!" when the prime chow hound harrasses him at mealtime.

So, we'll see.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com