Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-29

Clay gets into these conversational ruts--well, they seem like that to those of us who live with him, I doubt he sees it that way. For the longest time, he incessantly asked "What's that?" It's his way of learning about the world, I suppose, or simply of making conversation. It's cool, though monotonous and a little tricky to respond to when one is, say, driving the car and has no clue what he's referring to.

Lately "What's that?" has given way to "What's ___ doing?" On a weekend day he probably asks me 30 times "What's Daddy doing?" Sometimes I answer, sometimes I tell him I don't know and he should ask Daddy himself, sometimes I say, "What do you think Daddy's doing?" He also asks, many many times a day, what I'm doing and what the dogs are doing. He doesn't stop with the animate. The other evening we were out in the yard when he looked up and noticed the moon. He asked, "What moon doing?" and I suppressed my exasperation and asked what he thought it was doing. He said, "Flying." But sometimes, when he asks what stationery objects are doing, I say they are just hanging out.

He has a great warmth for Costco, where we go once or twice a week to shop and fill the vehicles with gasoline and seek out Clay's beloved free samples of food ("Want samples!"). Last weekend we arrived near closing time as all the sample distributors were packing up their displays; Clay was nonplussed. On the way home, he was moaning about going to Costco (which he pronounces "Cotco") and getting samples. I explained, repeatedly, that Costco was closed. Then, he asked "What Cotco doing?" and before I had a chance to reply, he said, "Cotco hanging out!"

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com