Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-09

Today is the first day I've felt really beat, exhausted, devoid of energy. As was the case yesterday, I woke up just as B was leaving for the old house. I hung around here for a few hours, really unable to muster the energy to do anything besides eat breakfast (I was ravenous). Finally dragged myself over to the house, made one hardware store run for him, picked up lunch, and then spent an hour or two actually helping. (I cleaned the livingroom floor, which involved using a chisel to scrape off paint drips, and one bathroom.)

I'm glad I was able to go over and help a bit. I kind of wanted to stay home, but I felt so guilty and good-for-nothing doing so. Of course, I remind myself, I am nine months pregnant. Still, I am so essentially lazy that I don't really trust that. And I turned out to be able to get stuff done. Slowly, but it would've taken B longer without me.

The house goes on the market tomorrow, I believe. That's kind of exciting. We have a realtor friend selling it for us--despite my usual inclination to save a buck whenever possible (I always place ads to sell cars myself), this seems like the reasonable route. We are not in any position to be showing the place at the moment and, once the kid arrives, forget it.

It's kind of suspenseful, wondering whether anyone will be interested in the place, how long it will be before we get any offers. I know it's an odd time of year to be selling and am not really expecting it to move before spring, though it would of course be very nice if it did. Very nice.

It has its appeal--it's a cute 1940 bungalow with hardwood floors and plaster walls, large sunny kitchen, three bedrooms and two full baths, screened-in back porch. For the price we're asking--$117,900--you don't see much else along these lines. The neighborhood is dicey and the street busy but the house is nice, the yard is big and fenced, and the attic enormous. And after all the work B has done, it really looks good.

And I'm still pregnant, naturally. Seeing my doctor tomorrow. It still freaks me out to think there will be a baby around here before long.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com