Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-03-20

Yesterday I spent at home, except for a brief excursion. In the morning I

walked dogs and vacuumed and folded laundry and filed away papers and washed

dishes. In the afternoon, I drove to the University campus and met my friend

K at our usual spot to walk two laps around (1.6 miles x 2 = 3.2 miles).

After that I dashed into the bookstore to pick up the Sunday New York Times

for B then made my weekly library visit.

I picked up the new Woody Allen biography. It's one of two new ones,

actually, this is the one by Marion Meade, called The Unruly Life of Woody

Allen. A review I saw likened the book to a "20-muleteam People article"

which so far seems pretty accurate. But, hey, I never claimed not to read

People. I don't pay good money for it, I read it in the checkout line, and I

wouldn't have bought this book, either. But I am giving it my time.

Aside from being a big fan of much of his body of work, I find him pretty

fascinating, in large part because of his prolificness. A movie a year.

Finishes editing a picture one day and goes back the next to start work on

another project. I am always fascinated by those who are driven, being so

not driven myself.

In the evening, B was watching an A&E program about Hollywood scandals of

the 1920s. Drug addiction, murder, closted homosexuality, pedophilia: they had it all. The show was

very atmospheric but the excruciating pace prompted me to pick up my book.

I

suppose there are some who don't love a trainwreck; I'm not among them.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com