Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-06-13

The pool is great! As my friend K, who came by on Sunday put it, it's like a kiddie pool for adults.

In other news, well, life is good.

Lately I've been feeling as though I'm channeling my mother. I guess it's the thing you typically hear women of a certain age say, that they hear their mother's voices coming out of their mouths (I suspect having children around tends to trigger this response). It's often said in a mild horror, "I've become my mother!" but I'm experiencing it as pleasant, comforting.

I grew up thinking of my mother as a simpleton, more or less. Oh, I just looked up simpleton and my dictionary says it's a person lacking in common sense, and that's not what I meant at all. I thought of my mother as a simple person, let's say, in contrast to my father, who seemed more complicated, more intellectual. Certainly he was the more discriminating of the two, the more critical, the one it was most challenging -- and therefore more rewarding -- to please.

As I've gotten older, I've stopped putting such people on pedestals, started valuing more those who embody my mother's traits of acceptance, forgiveness, warmth. And trying to develop these same qualities in myself.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com