Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-05-23

Last night I talked to a friend who's reading my book for the first time. Turns out she had a great title idea. It works on several levels and has a connotation I like and think is apt for the book. Sorry, I'm not ready to spill the beans yet, want to keep it to myself for a while. But I'm kind of excited. I like it better than anything I or anyone else has come up with before.

It's nice having the book off my hands for a week. I suppose I should be working on a list of agents should this one not wish to take me on, but it's a little hard to muster the energy. Actually, I suppose I should be rereading my manuscript; seeing as it's been two months plus since I worked on it, it's less than crystal clear in my memory. I'm a little afraid to read it, to see the inevitable typos and things that I could stand to improve. But it would be a relatively low-key way to ease back into writer mode. As opposed to incubator mode. Maybe I'll print it out and read it this weekend.

*

I have a new friend at work and boy is that nice. She started about a month ago, is really sharp and funny and reads books. She's recently married. Not that that's so terribly important, but almost all my friends are single and it's kind of nice having a married friend for a change. Unlike me, she's very put-together looking; she wears crisp, pressed outfits and foundation makeup. She looks good, and makes me realize that I could probably look similary put-together if I were willing to sacrifice a certain number of minutes per day. I'm just not, though. The just-rolled-out-of-bed look will have to suffice.

*

I've taken to fantasizing a little about a way of not returning to work after the baby is born. A nice fat book deal would be one answer. Living extremely frugally and depleting my savings is another. I probably deserve to be hit for saying this, but I almost wish I didn't make so much money. I mean, it makes it very hard to walk away. The big killer expense would be health insurance. I have a self-employed friend who's the primary support of her family and the monthly tab for insuring her, her husband, and their one child is $600. Yikes.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com