Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-06-07

Hi there. I've been on the quiet side. But don't worry. As my father would say, everything is okey-dokey, hotsy-totsy, ipsy-pipsy.

Speaking of my father, his memory is going. We had that long talk a couple weeks back and then last week he emailed me with the big news that he and Ruth broke up. Yes, you already told me.

I find this upsetting. B reminds me, the man is 76 years old. Yes, he is, but he's my father and this distresses me!

WARNING: Good Old Days nostalgia rant ahead (in gray, for your convenience in skipping over it)

What else distresses me is that B and I bought a really cool old fan at an antique store; it doesn't work and no one is this stupid town will fix it. I exhausted the yellow pages: everyone under "appliances" works only on major appliances, telling me that all the small appliance repair guys went out of business. I even tried all the lamp repair places and all the stores that sell fans.

"So what am I supposed to do with this fan, thow it in the garbage?"

"That's right, ma'am. You know, you can get a new fan at Walmart for $15 or $20."

Yes, I fucking know that!

There is no doubt in my mind that if I were in New York I'd be able to find someone to repair this fan.

But don't let my curmudgeonly blather mislead you: I'm a happy clam these days. Life is good.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com