Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-06-23

*

An antique dealer friend of mine has been selling a bunch of vintage tablecloths on eBay. I've used some of her photos to make backgrounds like the one you see here. More to come. She has wonderful taste, which is to say that it's nearly identical to mine. I have to be careful when visiting her; if I compliment an item she tries to give it to me. Sometimes I accept.

*

One of our dogs, the male hound, has bad allergies. On his hairless parts -- belly, armpits, underside of ears -- he develops angry-looking hives. He scratches them and they become infected. This has been going on for some time. Our vet said the next step is a veterinary dermatologist. (Don't you just see dollar signs when you hear that term?) Next Monday I'll be taking him. Those who've seen him so far, our regular vet and the emergency after-hours ones, suspect he's allergic to grass. He loves nothing more than lying on the lawn! Actually, he loves food more, he lives to eat, but lying on the lawn comes in second.

*

I've discovered pay-per-view movies. I tape them, saving them to watch later. We have this problem with renting videos: we often don't get around to watching them before it's time to return them. This elminates that problem. Now, however, we may never watch them at all.

*

As I've mentioned many times, I am the Oscar Madison of my marriage, B the Felix Unger. Since he's begun to work out of the house, however, he has become considerably less concerned about tidiness. Last night I actually found myself wishing he'd leave the kitchen less cluttered after using it. You can't imagine how bizarre it was to have that thought float through my mind.

Is everything temporary? Sometimes it seems that way. I try to keep that in mind, to remember that no matter what's bugging me, at some future point I've probably have the opposite problem. Before B moved in, I was so weary of doing everything by myself. Now my solitary time is precious. The answer, of course, is to love what you have when you have it. That's all there is to it!

*

This concludes today's serving of tids and bits. (Anyone know what movie of the past year featured that phrase?)

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com