Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-11-17

So last night was Lorrie Moore. She's tall! I somehow thought she'd be--not short, but of average height. She's also very young looking. She thought the same of me, apparently, for when I went to ask her sign my books, she asked if I were a student at the undergraduate institution where she was reading. I was so nervous I blurted out, "I'm a grownup! I'm 37! You're young-looking, too!" And she said something about abject terror keeping one young-looking.

Anyway, she was just great. Very funny in a natural, unmannered way, generous and chatty, not aloof in the slightest. She read from a work in progress and also the story "Dance in America" from Birds of America. She wore black pants, a black jacket, black boots, and silver-colored earrings in the shape of airplanes. She's really quite tall.

My friend's aunt, unfortunately, is still hanging on.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com