Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-10-05

B and I went to a party last weekend and boy were we wallflowers. I tried making small talk but the aggressiveness required to wedge my way into a conversation far exceeded any benefits I could see. We mostly hung out with our friends' dog.

The people there were mostly academics. I would not call them pretentious, but they fall into a category of people I think of as Interesting. You know, they've traveled extensively and have quirky interests and are supremely knowledgable about all this shit. Now, I don't have anything against travel or interests or knowledge, but there's something so off-putting about this conversational style. I mean, one woman mentions she teaches Japanese literature and another guy asks about her travel to Japan and keeping up with the culture and soon they are bemoaning the fact that the local cable and satellite dish options used to include Japanese TV and now they don't.

God knows there's nothing wrong with wanting to watch Japanese TV. They can have all the Japanese TV they want. Let's just say it made me realize that in many ways B and I really are two peas in a pod; our favorite television opportunity of late was the 48-hour Sanford and Son marathon on TVLand.

*

Next week B and I are on vacation from our jobs. Weather permitting, we plan to make a couple short camping excursions. October 10th is our one-year wedding anniversary. Our wedding cake had three layers: cheesecake on the bottom, chocolate second layer, cheesecake top. Everyone got served a thin slice of cheesecake and chocolate and we froze the top layer. Call me unromantic (you won't be the first) but for reasons of taste and freezer real estate I thought we should eat it on our one-month anniversary. B was having none of that; he insisted we keep it a year. I'll let you know how it goes.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com