Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-02-24

I sold my car today! My old one, the 1989 Civic that's been

cluttering up the front of our house since I bought the Volvo last August.

I was hanging onto it until November, waiting to see whether our old Subaru

would pass inspection without a working dash (it did). And since then, I've

just had a hell of a time trying to sell it. I'd advertised it in the paper

but to no avail, first because of the holidays, and then because of that

huge immobilizing snow. So I decided to advertise it in the Auto Trader,

where for $35 they run the ad until the car sells.

This guy sounded interested on the phone and asked me to bring

the title with me to work, where he'd be meeting me to look at the car. He

came by today at 11:30, totally prepared. He had cash, a license plate, and

a wrench. It turns out one of the women at work is a notary, so I

signed the title over right there. He took the car; B had to pick me up.

It's very cool, because I was getting to

the point where I thought I'd never get rid of this thing. And big wads of

cash are always cheering.

This brings the total number of cars at our house down from seven

to six. But tomorrow it should come down to five. First, there are B's MG

Midgets, the 1969 one he's restoring and the two parts cars that live in our

backyard. (B seems to believe I'm one of few girlfriend/wife types who are

supportive of their boyfriends/husbands having this particular hobby. Maybe

he's right, I don't know; it's his money.)

Then there's the Subaru, a 1984 wagon bought primarily for

hauling things around. We thought it would primarily haul dogs and home

improvement supplies, but last spring we bought a canoe, and it's turned out

to be the perfect canoe-hauling car. In fact, Subaru is the official car of

the American Canoeing Association (or some such), and we learned that many

people have Canoe-barus. It's a real workhorse of a car that we picked up

for $600. The only problem is that it has this digital dashboard -- orange

and blue lights that are totally groovy at night -- which hasn't worked in

a year or two. We went through an insane ordeal trying to fix this,

acquiring not one but two replacement dashes from junkyards only to burn

them out as well. So now its guages work only intermittently, but to pass

inspection all it needs is the light that indicates your brights are on;

that happens to work. Apart from its hauling duties, this is also the car B

drives when the Midget is for one reason or another not drivable. Or when

its raining.

So, our registered cars are now three: the MG, the Subaru, and my

Volvo. There are two MGs in the backyard. But wait, that's only five.

Shortly before Xmas, I was walking the dogs when I noticed that

the 1969 Rambler that had been in front of our neighbor's house for ages had

a fluorescent orange "this car appears to be abandoned and will soon be

towed" sticker. We called our neighbor; his kooky old roommate left the

thing behind when he left town and it was ours if we wanted it. B checked it

out that evening and thought he saw another restoration project. The

following morning five of us towed the thing into our backyard (the departed

roommate having the keys). Once we got it into the yard, however, B realized

it was

in far worse shape than he'd initially realized. And the thought of pouring

money into it suddenly seemed like a really bad idea.

At great and annoying length, B found someone (via the Internet,

naturally) who wanted to restore it and got the kooky departed roommate to

agree to sign the title over to this other guy. This guy is allegedly coming

tomorrow to tow the thing away, and its none too soon as B has been getting

dirty looks from one of our neighbors and suspects the cars are to

blame.

As for me, I now get to arrange for refunds. I paid for a year's

worth of insurance on the Honda last summer and will get half that back. And

I just paid the annual property tax our state collects for all vehicles;

I'll get a prorated portion of that back, too. And you know how much I love

a refund.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com