Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-12-01

A couple weekends ago I drove to DC. The impetus for the trip was a brunch my father gave on Saturday, an opportunity to meet his new love. (She lives in the midwest, was in town for a week to see him and to attend a reunion of Holocaust survivors.) She was delightful: warm, outspoken, down to earth. She completely charmed me.

He generally has good taste in women but his last girlfriend was an aberration--my siblings and I were unanimously underwhelmed. This new one is very special, and it makes me happy he's found her, not just for his sake but for my own. Given my hopes about starting a family and the absence of my mother, I have a feeling that she could become very important to me.

Speaking of my father (which I seem to be doing a lot lately) he was National Public Radio on November 22nd, the anniversary of President Kennedy's assassination. He read a commentary he'd written about that day in 1963. He was in the White House mess when he heard the news. Our local NPR affiliate ran it twice--I heard it once when I woke up and again in the car as I drove to work. He sounded just like himself.

*

Something I've realized lately as people share wish lists is that there is not very much I want. On the rare occasion that I want something, I buy it for myself. This makes me very difficult to buy presents for. B's mom asks us for lists of things we'd like for the holidays and I pore through catalogs and manage to come up with a few things but it's really kind of difficult.

Okay, I will come clean; there is one thing I have to say I covet. It's a full-length cashmere knit robe from Garnet Hill. It comes in pale pink or gray heather, either of which I would adore. It costs $358. I did not put it on my list; I could never ask anyone to buy me such an extravagance. I consider splurging and buying it myself, but knowing it would be covered with dog fur within hours of my opening the box tempers the impulse a bit.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com