Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-06

I think I've been avoiding writing because I was loath to summarize the recent goings on with the book. Then I got an email from a friend I've been out of touch with for a while and ended up summarizing things for her. Since it's done, I guess I can just paste it in here and get back to chattering on about gestation.

I can sum up my life this way: pregnancy good, book bad.

My agent took two months to read my rewrite then dismissed me--well, the project--as lacking the "pyrotechnics" publishers want these days. The sound you hear is me rolling my eyes--as if this book ever had or was going to have any pyrotechnics. After this, a friend's agent read it and was also less than optimistic about the book's chances after having been around to quite a few places. She suggested I start book #2 and file this one away to use as my second novel, a practice I gather is not so unusual--Jay McInerny wrote Ransom first, couldn't sell it, then wrote BLBC and when it did well, sold Ransom as his second.

That's not a horrible thought--especially given that the next year or so are hardly prime for me to be promoting anything. However, it also seems a bit premature given that one of the editors who saw it last summer--she loved it but could not get the support of the house--explicitly asked to see a rewrite. I see no reason not to show it to her. I'm waiting to hear back from Agent #2 to see if she'll send it to this editor for me. If not, I'll either try to find another agent who will or send it myself.

This is all pretty disappointing but not devastating--the baby stuff helps balance it out.

So, yeah, that about covers it.

*

Meanwhile, oh I don't know. I've been reading chick books and watching chick movies. The other day I wanted something to watch while doing the treadmill and found a recording of Notting Hill I'd taped off of pay-per-view. I feel like a sap but it just charmed me to pieces. Sometimes a feel-good movie really can reel me in and leave me with a big smile plastered across my face.

*

Tonight I'm planning to check out a pre-natal yoga class. My ulterior motive is to meet some other pregnant woman, in particular a prospective doula I've been corresponding with by email; she's starting tonight, too. I've done a little yoga in the past and haven't loved it, but I'm keeping an open mind.

*

The past couple weeks has seen the availability of decent (and decently-priced) fresh nectarines and blueberries; life has become significantly more worth living.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com