Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-03-23

Ever have so much on your mind that it's paralyzing? That's how I feel at the moment. Not that anything is especially happening in the external world for me, just lots of thoughts churning in my mind.

I think a lot about living in this particular moment in time in this particular place (the U.S.). And, I should add, in my particular socio-economic category, which I would define as privileged. Invariably it strikes me as just so bizarre.

I think a lot about excess. Everyday ironies like the fact that I drive everywhere I need to go and then put in two or three hours a week on my treadmill. Like the promotional display I saw once in a 7-11: buy a two-liter bottle of Diet Coke and Coca-Cola will contribute money to Ethiopian famine victims.

None of this is new, mind you. It's more backdrop absurdity.

Remember when Seinfeld was going off the air last year? I saw an interview with Jerry where he talked about public reaction to the decision. "Americans do not understand the concept of enough," he said. "If something is good, they must have more."

This from a man who owns fifteen Porsches.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com