Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-25

Christmas. I'm trying to keep my spirits up, but it's bumming me out a little that contractions have all but ceased.

This morning we opened presents sent by B's parents, things we requested plus some surprises. My two surprises were both hits: a really classy leather-bound photo album that will be perfect for baby pics, the old-fashioned kind where you use corners to hold the photos, and a felt jigsaw puzzle mat that lets you roll up a puzzle midstream.

Despite the doula's admonition to conserve my energy, I took a half-hour walk earlier. I was getting cabin fever, even though this is a damned nice cabin.

I have a doctor's appointment tomorrow. When I last saw my doctor, last Monday, we scheduled this one. Upon parting, she said, "See you next Wednesday!" and I said, "If not sooner. Right?" and she said, "Oh, yes, if not sooner." But it didn't do a lot for my optimism to have to remind her of that possibility.

Now it looks as though I'll be keeping that appointment. I really hope I have dilated beyond the one centimeter she measured last time; it would encourage me to see a little bit of progress.

Of course, you never know, something could happen sooner. Fewer than twelve hours of Christmas remain, so I guess the likelihood of this being a Christmas baby is diminishing. I do hope it will be a 2001 baby.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com