Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-16

Remember my pregnancy group? We're having a reunion potluck get together tonight, the moms and kids. Just heard from the one member of the group I like most; her kid isn't well so they won't be coming. And suddenly I'm dreading this. She is the really the only one I like, now that I think of it. And while I'm mildly curious to see how the other kids have turned out, well, I'm not that curious. There's a reason we haven't kept in touch. So, ugh. Guess we'll just make the best of it, try to leave early. Actually, Clay might well enjoy himself. And who knows, I might even enjoy myself as well. But I'm not holding out high hopes. This is an annoying group of women, each in her own way. And I suspect the feeling is mutual, if you know what I mean. Nor do I expect the food to be anything special, either.

I called the daycare director today during naptime for a brief chat. I wanted to get--or rather, B wanted me to get--a sense of how things were going there for Clay and her thoughts on whether to move him to the new place this coming August or in August 2005. She was quite opaque and hard to read.

It might've been easier to read her had we talked in person, but I called because it's hard to talk at pickup (especially since she's been off in the back or outside every evening lately, something I don't believe is coincidental; I really think she's avoiding me) and because it seems inappropriate to have this discussion with Clay present.

She basically said either way was fine, sooner probably better. B told me that lately he feels sad dropping Clay off in the mornings. We used to feel as though Clay was--if not the favorite, at least a favorite. And lately it doesn't feel that way so much. Maybe he's just getting too old? B said that this morning in the car, Clay said something about "Clay too big." B didn't know what this was about, but it disturbed him a little.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com