Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-19

It's been a real sickfest chez Snoozebar lately. Clay developed his first ever ear infection. I took this as a personal blow, payback for my reaction when my mildly obnoxious brother learned that Clay had never had one. He was incredulous, insisting that all kids got them all the time, and I just shrugged and said maybe breastfeeding had something to do with it (his two kids were 100% formula fed) but inwardly I gloated like hell. And now here we are, using a syringe to shoot pink-bubblegum amoxicillin into Clay's clamped-shut yap twice a day for ten days. He's actually growing to like it, and this morning, after his sixteenth dose, he said "More!"

I've been coughing pretty much nonstop since Thanksgiving, the kind of, ahem, productive coughs that prompt coworkers I pass in the halls to say, "That doesn't sound very good." So, pretty good for getting sympathy but it got old a while ago. I decided to start taking some amoxicillin myself (not bubble-gum flavored, alas). Maybe this will do something, maybe not.

One nice biproduct of the illness is that most food has lost its appeal. I'm now at a weight I don't recall being at since I went on a big diet when I was maybe 15. As I've noted before, the pound are distributed quite a bit differently but I'd be lying if I said I didn't get a thrill seeing the number on the scale. I mean, I am an American woman, after all.

Clay's been sort of nightmarish recently. I guess it's the aftermath of the illness but he is so clingy it's driving me batty. All he wants is to be held ("Wan up! Wan up!") or to nurse ("Wan na! Wan na!"). Last night we got home from daycare and I took him out of the car and put him on the ground so he could walk to the house and he grabbed my legs and sobbed. So pathetic.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com