Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-22

[Another new entry is up here.]

I've seen the new shrink a second time. I yakked so much that he barely got a word in edgewise, but the stuff he managed to say seemed reasonably astute. It certainly gave me something to think about. The key concepts are: detachment, emotional coolness, Svetlana, tough cookie.

Clay seems to be on a develomental plateau. He's been crawling for months now, and is quite good at it, but shows no particular inclination to walk. There are small developments. He does more vocalization--we get da-da-da and, less frequently, ba-ba-ba. Once in a great while he placates me with a ma-ma-ma. His newest thing is that when you put a shirt on him, he inserts his arm into the sleeve in a purposeful way. That sounds small, and is small, but it was quite shocking the first few times.

The past several days have seen the return of The Tongue (B has taken to calling him Lizardo). I gather this means some new teeth will soon be making an appearance (so far he has the two top and two bottom ones).

At moments I feel desperate for him to start talking. I spoke with my sister-in-law recently and learned that my nephew didn't say a word until he was two weeks shy of two-and-a-half. And that my father didn't until he was two. I know I will survive, but the idea of having to wait another fourteen or twenty months to have conversations with Clay seems just agonizing. The truth is, for all his cuteness and coolness, being with him can be a bit tedious.

*

We're doing holiday cards this year. If you'd like to receive one, please send me your address.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com