Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-10

Monday evening after picking up Clay at daycare we went to the kennel to retrieve the dogs, whom we'd boarded for the weekend due to our party. Once we'd gotten them safely ensconced in the "way back" of the car (yes, I'm one of those people with a station wagon with a dog gate), Clay said, "Want to leave dogs here."

I explained that we didn't have enough money to leave them there, but that his father and I felt the same way.

Clay's enthusiasm to leave diapers behind is flagging. Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday he used the toilet regularly at daycare then refused at home and wet his underpants. By last night, I was beginning to get exasperated. After last night's episode, he asked for a diaper. Then his first words this morning were "I don't like underpants." So he went to daycare in a diaper.

I suppose this is all pretty typical, this non-linear approach, though I admit I'm a little disappointed. I was hoping he was going to be some kind of toileting prodigy but I guess he's just a regular little boy.

I have a cold and it's mildly annoying but not too bad. Between the cold and Clay's recent behavior--he's been going through a very tantrum-heavy phase--I've been feeling kind of beaten down so I rely on the simple pleasures.

Over the weekend I went to not-our-usual grocery store and found Twinings peach tea, which I'd forgotten about (our usual store carries vanilla and black currant, which are good but not as good). I use one bag to two bags of Liptons to make a fragrant iced tea that really cheers me up.

Oh, and B's garden is suddenly bearing the following: yellow squash, little pickling cucumbers (tasty with olive oil, lemon juice, and feta cheese), and raspberries. These last are not particularly abundant but what few there are are perfect.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com