Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-12

So....

I met this writer in an online forum where I'd gone to ask about the protocol for trying to find an agent when one has already had an agent. I said I felt like damaged goods, and was unsure how much I was obligated to share about my past. This writer--who'd had a similiar experience--and I began to correspond.

She's got a book coming out in the spring and from what I know about the imprint, it would be a very good fit for my book. So she graciously offered to tell her editor about me. After reading my bio and synopsis, this editor is interested in seeing the complete manuscript. That's the good news. The less good news is that she estimates it will be months before she'll be able to read it.

I sent it off and will probably, in the meantime, start querying agents. This editor didn't ask for an exclusive, and I can't really put all my eggs in that basket.

It's kind of like meeting someone wildly attractive and having him tell you he'd like to go out with you but that he's leaving town for six months. Agonizing, in other words.

Of course, I entertain the fantasy that the editor will glance at the first page and be so compelled that she'll read the whole thing, other obligations be damned.

Which would be the equivalent, I guess, of the attractive guy calling off his trip because of you. Sort of.

In other news, you might recall my friend at work. I was so excited when she started not quite two years ago, and it has been wonderful to have someone so simpatico on the other side of my office wall. As a co-worker and friend and fellow working mother (her kid is six months Clay's junior) she has had a dramatic effect on my quality of life.

Last week she got laid off.

My responses range from the bereft (who am I going to talk to?) to the relieved (it could have been me) to the anxious (next time it probably will be me). My morale is not high.

What else? Next Monday I have the day off for Presidents' Day and daycare is open. You know what this means? A full day to myself! To thrift shop, drink coffee in interesting places, see a movie. (Is Secretary still playing? That movie has my name written all over it for so many reasons.) It feels like a gift from heaven.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com