Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-24

Clay was really sick yesterday. He had a fever and was listless and whimpering most of the day. B and I took turns holding him, both of us noting that there was something sweet about it. He's never been much of a cuddler and he's even less of one now that he's so busy exploring.

Last night at one we got up and took him temperature: 104.6, higher than it's ever been. The nurse on call instructed us to put him in a tepid bath while the medication kicked in. He didn't like the bath too much but it helped to cool him down.

Finally B went back to bed and I was sitting in Clay's room with him, nursing in the semi-dark. I hiccupped and Clay started to laugh! That made me laugh. The two of us giggled for a full minute or so, then it subsided. Then he started up again and so did I. I can't remember when I last laughed so hard.

This was the purest communication I've ever experienced with him. It was so intimate, the way we knew exactly what the other was thinking, language completely unnecessary, really kind of magical.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com