Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-09

The other day B asked Clay whether he loved Nellie (his favorite dog). Clay shook his head.

Then B asked Clay whether he loved Chester (his least favorite dog). Clay shook his head.

Then I asked Clay whether he loved Mommy. He shook his head, gave a sly smile, and said, "I...love...Daddy!!"

*

I had such a nice day Saturday with Clay. We went to visit a friend and her little boy, who ended up napping for most of our visit. So Clay played with his toys and my friend and I shot the breeze. We used to work together and have a kind of ease around each other which I really appreciate.

On our way home, Clay and I stopped at the video store and at Costco, where he was unusually well-behaved. At home, we reunited with B. Clay went out on the deck and got on his tricycle and pedaled for the first time. I told B I'd rented American Splendor and did he want to watch it later. He was curiously lukewarm, considering how interested we'd both been when it first came out. After Clay went to sleep, B and I settled down on the couch. Once the DVD started he said, "You said you'd rented American Beauty. This is much better." The movie was kind of disappointing, though. Not bad or anything, but I'm pretty familiar with the story and somehow was expecting more.

Lately it seems I'm disappointed by so many books and movies. Is it because real life is more vivid?

*

Yesterday I was talking about politics with my father , who is far more optimistic than I. I said, "I hope you're right. Nothing would make me happier than to see Bush defeated in November." B called from the other room: "What about seeing Bush thrown in jail?" I amended my statement.

*

I'm just kind of *happy* lately. It's the oddest thing....

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com