Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-08

Last week I had a couple of free hours during the day so I went thrift shopping. I wanted to get some cropped pants for the warmer weather and the gods smiled upon me. I found three pair: tan cotton, grass-green cotton, and pale pink linen (these last from Eileen Fisher, no less, for only five bucks). I'm really branching out with the colors. For the longest time I wore only the drabbest neutrals but lately I'm going wild. I'll only wear one colorful color at a time, everything else is black or white or gray, but for me it is remarkable. By which I mean, people remark.

Lately I am loving where we live. The weather has been lovely and we've been outside a lot. We've also gotten into a semi-routine of taking Clay to a nearby school in the early evenings. We bring his tricycle and/or B's bike with its new child seat and ride around (something that doesn't work too well on our gravel driveway and road at home). We we also play on the playground equipment. Clay loves it all.

When B bought the child seat he also got a couple of helmets for Clay to choose from, having read that letting the kid choose increases the likelihood the kid will wear the helmet. One was gray with a police motif and the other was pink with strawberries (Clay loves strawberries). Clay chose the latter, and is now completely enamored of his "pink hat." B wanted me to know that he is a bit uncomfortable with this choice, but is living with the discomfort.

I took my car to be repaired from the deer incident and am now driving a rental. It's odd, I'm so used to my car. I spend so much time in it, have all my little systems for where I keep things; basically, my car is my purse.

Clay and I have begun to take swimming lessons; two evenings a week for four weeks at the local community pool. There are six children around his age and he is by far the clingiest. The other kids let their parents hold them at arm's length for hokey pokeying and whatnot but Clay keeps his legs clamped around my waist and his arms around my neck. Oh, well, at least he doesn't scream his head off. And when asked, he says he likes the class and wants to go back.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com