Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-15

In the "Only a parent could care" department....

A year or two ago I read in the online journal of a self-described "hip mama" how preposterous she found it when people asked whether she'd toilet trained her daughter. She said she hadn't trained her to walk or to talk, nor had it been necessary to train her to use the toilet. The girl simply began using it when she was ready. What could be groovier?

A few months back Clay began using the toilet himself. It was his own idea and I thought it was a great one. But then he lost interest. The novelty wore off, I suppose, and the excitement of behaving in a grown-up manner ("Just like Mommy and Daddy!") paled next to the ease and convenience of wearing a diaper. From the times he was diaperless--outdoors, mostly, wearing his little bathing suit--it was clear that he was physically able to control both bladder and bowels. He just didn't feel like it.

So last week, at the urging of his daycare provider, we began to push him a little. She's got her system, which I think involves some rewards as well, but at home, we've instituted something I always rolled my eyes over: the candy bribe. He gets a single chocolate-covered raisin for every productive bathroom visit. I never dreamed I'd do such a thing but it seems to be just the incentive he needs.

He was diaper free all day Saturday and Sunday (still wears one at night, though it's been dry in the morning). This includes outings to stores and restaurants. No accidents! What a clever boy.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com