Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-24

So I went back to bed at 4 am and slept, more or less straight through, until 8:30. When I woke, the contractions seemed to have died down. It's really kind of hard to tell, but they just weren't as strong or regular, and I felt disappointed and concerned--irrationally--that had I only stayed awake they would've continued and I would've made more progress.

This is irrational because, if I understand this labor stuff correctly, the process pretty much has a mind of its own; it hardly needs my consciousness to help it along. Also, I should take advantage of any opportunity to catch some sleep for I'll need all the strength I can get later in the process.

So, anyway, it's 11 now. I've been sitting around looking out the windows, then making and eating some cottage cheese-whole wheat pancakes (another recipe from What to Eat When You're Expecting--my first time making them, easy and very good). The contractions have been striking intermittently; they are neither strong nor regular, but neither have they completely stopped. I suspect things will continue in this desultory way for some time.

B just mentioned going over to the old house to take care of some things; would I be okay alone here? I said, "Sure, I'll be fine. I think it's going to be a while before anything happens." As I said it I had a little flash of irony--like when a sitcom character makes a similar assertion and the action instantly jumps forward to her writhing on the floor in agony, cursing the husband for leaving.

But he'll only be half an hour away and he'll have a phone with him and I really do suspect it will be many hours before things intensify.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com