Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-11-30

Today is my last day of work!!

So, there's this project called Holidailies, a group of online journal types who are vowing to write daily for the month of December. Given that I'm on maternity leave as of December first, joining this group this seemed a good prod for me. You know, more time on my hands, particularly during these last days of pregnancy which I really would do well to record for posterity. Of course, given that I truly hope this child will make his debut during the month of December, I may miss a day or two or five. We'll see.

This morning I had a doctor's appointment, not with my usual doctor but with one of two residents who will likely be on call when I deliver (I'm meeting the other one next week). She seemed good, easy to be around and knowledgable and all that, and I was comfortable enough with her that I could overlook the fact that she appears to be approximately twelve years old. Okay, I'm exaggerating, she looks nineteen. I really, truly don't mind getting older but I'm still not entirely over the fact that there are now doctors significantly younger than I. Just doesn't feel right.

A cool thing about the family practice I'm with--virutally unheard of these days, from what I understand--is that barring her own illness, my doctor is going to attend my birth. Most practices, even the groovy midwife-staffed ones, have you rotate through a group of providers during your pregnancy and then give you whoever happens to be on call when labor begins. But mine keeps her roster of patients reasonably small and attends everybody.

I like my doctor. Here's her photo (I got it off the practice's web site). Doesn't she look like a giant here? She's as tall as the doorframe. But no, it's the angle, for in real life she's quite diminutive. I'd say 5'3" tops.

Yesterday was the little shower-type luncheon with work people. I got a bunch of tiny little baby-blue garments and some other odds and ends it will be nice to have. Most of these things just crack me up, so small and silly do they seem. The little hats and socks. What in the world are we going to do with this baby????

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com