Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-11-26

As of yesterday I am at 37 weeks, which means the baby is full term. It's kind of arbitrary, but babies born prior to 37 weeks are considered pre-term, so it's a bit of a milestone. It could happen any day.

I still feel neither huge nor hugely uncomfortable. I keep waiting for that to happen, but maybe I'll get lucky and it won't. I feel a little fraudulent stopping work after this week, as though I ought to be massively unwieldy and in pain to justify the time off. It's my old reverse hypochondria; I always feel as though I'm faking it. This is for real, though. I guess. We'll find out soon enough.

Thanksgiving weekend, all four days of it, were very relaxing. B's parents arrived Wednesday afternoon, settled into their motel then came to the house. I joined them after work. His mother brought her own pair of rubber gloves to do dishes! Gotta love that. Thursday morning B picked up his brother at the airport.

His parents stayed until Friday morning and his brother until Monday morning. It was nice having his brother around, very low key. Much of the time we each amused ourselves--his brother read and I worked on this extremely difficult jigsaw puzzle I'd bought to do during early labor, when I need something to distract me (I completed less than half, so I should still have plenty of distraction left when the big day comes). B and his brother did some fishing in the lake, we made frequent use of the hot tub, and just generally lazed about except for Saturday when we drove about an hour and half to a big furniture-buying center. B's parents gave us a nice chunk of dough to use on a dining room table and chairs and we actually found a set we like but it exceeds our budget by about $700 and would take a minimum of four months to order so we're mulling it over.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com