Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-11-12

The accumulation of baby stuff begins. Or continues. A guy I work with lent us a crib. Another guy I work with sold us an infant car seat. My mother-in-law bought us a glider-rocker-ottoman thing.

This glider was actually something I kind of wanted. I've been resisting the conspicuous consumption impending parenthood seems to bring with it, really trying to stick to the bare necessities. But I have to say that when it came to extravagances, this was the one I wanted. For the uninitiated, this is wooden-framed chair and ottoman onto which you snap upholstered pads. The one I got is dark wood (maple with a cherry stain) with a subtle beige floral brocade fabric. The chair and ottoman glide forward and back in a way that is apparently well-suited to soothing babies. It's also insanely comfortable.

A week ago there were two of us from the original eight of my pregnancy group still pregnant. As of Friday night, and there is one. That would be me. The other woman, whose estimated delivery date was December first, went into labor three weeks early. According to an email her husband sent to the group, she ended up having an emergency cesarean. That makes three cesareans out of eight, which B pointed out substantially improves my odds. If you believe in such things.

I've entered a new, unpleasant stage of the pregnancy: heartburn. I'd never really experienced this before, never really knew what people were talking about. Now I do. Zantac helps.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com