Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-11-19

I think we've come up with a name for this kid! I was hoping that one day we'd just stumble upon one we both liked--because for a while there it was looking pretty grim--and it seems to have happened. I want to keep it under wraps for a while, but B thought of this one on Saturday and we both still like it, and I'm feeling pretty optimistic.

Actually, maybe we'll keep it under wraps until the kid arrives. Now that most people know the sex of the baby prior to birth, the name is one of the few things you get to announce. And I find something vaguely creepy about people referring to their as-yet unborn children by name. Maybe it seems a little too trusting or something. We have a joke name for the kid--we've been calling him Rufus--but that feels different. I don't think I'll feel comfortable using the real name until he's out, safe and sound.

So we've hired this doula. She came over last night for our pre-natal visit and really got on both B's and my nerves. For one thing, she called 15 minutes prior to the time she was supposed to arrive to say she'd be an hour late. Her excuse? Grocery shopping took her two hours. Well, you know what, it's the Sunday before Thanksgiving; what did she expect? B saw this--and I'm inclined to agree--as a perfect example of the kind of self-centered inconsiderateness frequently demonstrated by these groovy, new-agey types who've gone though all their fucking assertiveness training. I know quite a few types like this, who've worked so hard to get in touch with their NEEDS that they have become complete boors. I mean, this woman, when she called--from her cell phone, which presumably she had with her an hour previous to calling as well--did not even apologize! She just stated as fact "I won't be able to be there by six."

There are other annoying things about her as well, so much so that I started wondering whether we should fire her and either try to find another doula or just do without. But she is probably good at what she does. She's experienced and has attended a lot of natural hospital births--somewhat unusual since many of the pro-natural people around here use the birth center. Also, she's a massage therapist, which should be very nice. But her voice is like fingernails on a blackboard and she doesn't seem to be capable of listening. Though as B pointed out, she's probably better when she has something concrete to do, as opposed to just sitting talking. And I can't really face intervewing others; I actually think that this woman is probably less flaky than many other doulas would be. So I guess we'll keep her.

B, incidentally, refers to her as Beulah the Doula.

Saw the doctor this morning. From now on I go once a week. The next two visits are actually with the two residents who'll be on call during December. We're getting close! Four weeks from yesterday is my official due date. And though I'm not really expecting anything to happen until a week beyond that date, I know early first babies are not unheard of. It's all pretty exciting, I have to say.

We're moderately prepared--still haven't packed any bags but have a car seat and a place for the kid to sleep and some diapers (cloth ones from eBay) and yesterday I laundered all the little tiny onesies and whatnot I picked up in thrift shops and yard sales way back when. I had packed them all away and it was kind of fun to go through them and get them all clean and folded. I guess this is what they call nesting....

You know, since we decided to buy our new house roughly three months ago, I haven't set foot in a thrift shop. All of B's spare moments have been spent toiling to get our old house in suitable shape to sell (it should be on the market within a week or two) and I've felt too guilty to indulge. But once I stop working--just this week and next week then I'm free!--you can bet I'll resume with a vengenance. At least I think I will. Is it possible I'll have lost the urge? The magic touch that lets me spot well-made, natural-fiber garments from a distance? We'll see.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com