Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-09-12

B and I took the pop-up camper for its inaugural outing this past weekend and boy was it fun. We went to the same lake where we went with our friends, but to a public campground (with them we had gone to a campground owned by the university where one of them works and employees can camp for free).

We arrived around four Saturday afternoon and found a great spot right on the lake. The place was sparsely populated -- our section had 35 campsites but only about four or five groups of campers. We set up the camper, took a dip in the lake, read, gathered wood, cooked burgers for dinner, made a fire and sat mesmerized before it. In the morning we ate bacon and eggs and then I set up my laptop on the table in the camper and worked on the novel for a while B befriended a lone duck that walked up onto the beach. The ranger drove up and collected our $12. We spent more time in the lake. Around one we started packing our things and folding up the camper.

So all in all it was a 24-hour excursion. It made the weekend so much better than our usual routine of puttering around the house, cleaning and running errands. Not that I dislike our usual routine, I enjoy all that stuff (except for the cleaning, but I like the results of that). But this really did open things up. We forgot about our jobs in a way that doesn't really happen on a usual weekend.

*

Do you ever have a day where you're just inordinately happy with what you're wearing? Today is one of those days for me. I have on these home-made shorts (not made by me, they are a thrift-shop find). They're pale pink cotton, on the long side, with a side zip and hardly any waistband. They are the only pink garment I own. With them I wear black suede sandals, a black T-shirt, and in the air conditioned office, a black cashmere cardigan.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com